CD5: Hierun tulet – The lights of a village


”The lights of Karelian villages are the lights of the world, and when
one village fades, the whole world becomes darker.” Zinaida Dubinina

The lights of a village is my 5th album dedicated to Karelia and
the Karelian language. My thoughts of gratitude go to Karjalan

Kielen Seura, Karelian Language Society in Finland, who supported
me and made this recording possible. I want to thank Mathias, who
made my musical ideas come true, and Elin, Paulina and William for
singing and playing my music. I also want to thank the Karelian poets
for their beatiful and inspiring words. This cd is in memory of my
beloved aunt Aino Alhoniemi.

1. Hieruloin tulet/Village lights (live)
2. Kotkadjärves minun kodi/Kotkadjärvi, my home
3. Meidy vardoiččou taivas/Heaven protects us (live)
4. Astu ainos kunnetahto/Always follow your desire
5. Kukkivat omenapuut (live)/Apple trees in bloom
6. Itkuvirzi ystäväle/Lament for a friend
7. Mikse elos moine lyhyt on?/Why is life so short?
8. Unissah on järvenselgy (live)/The lake is dreaming

CD4: Muistatko? – Do you remember?


Background to Muistatko? – Do you remember?
I’ve filled my pockets with images of sunny playgrounds, laughing friends and a
grandmother’s wise smile. I hope that the weight of these memories will ground me
enough to feel my long lost roots through the soles of my shoes. May I always
remember where my soul learned to dance. May every beat of my heart sing for my
beloved homeland Karelia.

This CD is a compilation of live­recordings spanning the past decade. The songs are
my attempt to reach out for those fleeting childhood memories of a lost home. The
more recent songs are inspired by the collection of poems called ”Vie sinne mun
kaihoni” (Bring my longing there), containing stories and experiences of the
Karelian evacuees during the war 1939-1945 in Finland. This collection of poems
was first published in 2011, and I received it as a gift from Pirkko Sallinen­Gimpl,
the editor of the book. She encouraged me to make music to some of the poems. My
warmest thanks go to all the brave storytellers who with open hearts shared the
everlasting yearning for their childhood homes.

September 2014

Eila Pöllänen

CD3: Pajaloi Karjalakse III / Karelian songs III – Ikkunan avuan (I open the window)


I wish to thank my family – you gave me time to do this!

Recording/mixing/mastering by Ove Engström at the Studio of Musicant in Hässelby, in the year of 2010.

Produced by Eila Pöllänen, © Deila M&K
Photo: Björn Thidell
Cover design: Björn Adolfsson E&A

  1. Luadogu luaskau (4:01)
  2. Yön ikkun (2:14)
  3. Valgei kajoi (1:56)
  4. Vihmaa vaste (2:34)
  5. Akion kezä (Live) (2:46)
  6. Minuu sa et tahto (Live) (2:46)
  7. Sinun silmät (1:27)
  8. Jälles vihmua (Live) (1:54)
  9. Sinuttahgi en voi (1:56)
  10. Miehii tunnen kahta luaduu (Live) (2:39)
  11. Eloksen rata (Live) (3:00)
  12. Ikkunan avuan (2:19)
  13. Kyzymys (3:03)
  14. Huondestu hyviä (Live) (1:45)



Recording/mixing/mastering by Ove Engström at the Studio of Musicant in Hässelby, springtime 2005

Produced by Eila Pöllänen, © Deila M&K
Photo/trans.english: Stig Andersson
Cover design: Björn Adolfsson E&A

  1. Ikkunah kacon – Threw the window (2:25)
  2. Minun sugu – My Karelian family (2:07)
  3. Sano buaboi suarnanine – Grandmother, tell me a story (3:07)
  4. Valgei koivikko – The white birches (2:44)
  5. Se matku on pitkü – The road is so long (2:44)
  6. Oma kylä – My own village (2:00)
  7. Kotikylän itku – Lament for the homevillage (3:09)
  8. Reppurin laulu – Pedlars song (4:03)
  9. Joga küläs oma soittai – Every village has its own fiddler (3:29)
  10. Kirjaniekku – The bookworm (0:58)
  11. Viis on sulhasia miulla – I have five admirers (2:02)
  12. Suaharpalane – If you were a lump of sugar, my love (2:39)
  13. Karjalan kesäine üö – Summernight in Karelia (2:45)
  14. Pihlajale – To the rowan-tree (1:45)
  15. Vuotan sinuu – I will wait for you (3:11)

CD1: Enzikukkaine – The first flower


Fakta om CD:n Enzikukkaine – The first flower.

  • Den första i Sverige utgivna Cd-skivan på det karelska språket, livvi
  • Vi vill med denna Cd väcka intresse för det vackra karelska språket och den karelska kulturen i allmänhet.
  • Kanske kan våra sånger hjälpa karelska ungdomar att känna tillit och stolthet för sitt unika och variationsrika modersmål och dess möjligheter vid skapandet av nya sånger.
  • Releasekonserten till denna Cd hölls i samband med de finsk-ugriska folkens etnokulturella festival utefter Volga juni 2003.
  • Samtliga musikarrangemang på denna Cd har gjorts av Eila Pöllänen. Cd:n är inspelad i Studio Musicant, producerad av E/A produktion med copyright Deila M/K (april 2003)
  1. Enzikukkaine – The first flower (1.57)
  2. Astuu mecäs akkaine – Old woman in forest (2.00)
  3. Vai Karjalan mua – Karjala land in my heart (3.57)
  4. Pienes Dessoilas – In the little village of Dessoila (1.12)
  5. Midä minä suvaicen – What I like (2.13)
  6. Pieni uni – Little dream (2.51)
  7. Tanssiin kutsu – Invitation to dance (1.17)
  8. Muamon neuvot – Mother´s advice (2.00)
  9. Sovvin kerran – Once in a rowingboat (2.52)
  10. Muaman piirai – Mother´s bread (2.55)
  11. Linduine, lennä – Fly my little bird (3.27)
  12. Kezäildazet Karjalan – Summer evenings in Karelia (2.54)
  13. Sano buaboi suarnaine – Grandmother, tell me a story (2.45)